Ministers of India

Ministers of India


Ministers of India the “Government of India” have 51 Ministry Departments. As well as “State Ministers of India” is also there. The idea of federalism envisioned in our Constitution requires the state and center to work in parity with each other with the center acting autonomously in certain conditions. Following points will make it more clear. “Ministers of India” have to monitoring funds and administration in Ministry of Departments.

  1. The MPs from each state in Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha ensure that the interest of their state is expressed at the central level which further helps in decision making by the relevant department.
  2. The allocation of funds by the centre, revised upto 60–40 ratio in the 14th Finance commission, can only be achieved properly when it’s critically scrutinised at the centre leaving all speculations.
  3. The role of the government under the DPSPs is also to ensure that the Centrally Sponsored Schemes are inplemented well not only at the state level but also through the 3 local tiers of the Panchayats and the Municipalities.
  4. Art. 3 and Art. 4 gives power to the centre to admit, create or alter the boundaries of the states with the states free to give their opinion in this regard. Thereby, requiring the centre to keep a close view in maintaining the stabilities of the states.
  5. Delegated Legislation allows for the overall policy framework for implementing the various laws approved by the government which differs from state to state. Thereby, requiring experts/technical members (separate dept.) at the center.
  6. In conditions of grave disorder withing the state or within the State legislatures (as seen in the case of Assam, recently), centre should be pro-active in taking decisions for maintaining peace and stability within the state. Further granting the autonomous powers to the Centre.

That’s all I could come up as of now. There will be several other reasons as weel.

List of Ministry Departments and Aims and Objectives


Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare

Ministry of AYUSH
Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers
Ministry of Civil Aviation
Ministry of Coal
Ministry of Commerce and Industry
Ministry of Communications
Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
Ministry of Corporate Affairs
Ministry of Culture
Ministry of Defence
Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region
Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation
Ministry of Earth Sciences
Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology
Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change
Ministry of External Affairs
Ministry of Finance
Ministry of Food Processing Industries
Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises
Ministry of Home Affairs
Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation
Ministry of Human Resource Development
Ministry of Information and Broadcasting
Ministry of Labour and Employment
Ministry of Law and Justice
Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises
Ministry of Mines
Ministry of Minority Affairs
Ministry of New and Renewable Energy
Ministry of Panchayati Raj
Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs
Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions
Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas
Ministry of Power
Ministry of Railways
Ministry of Road Transport and Highways
Ministry of Rural Development
Ministry of Science and Technology
Ministry of Shipping
Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship
Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment
Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation
Ministry of Steel
Ministry of Tourism
Ministry of Tribal Affairs
Ministry of Urban Development
Ministry of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation
Ministry of Women and Child Development
Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports

Who is Finance Minister of India?

Visit our Other Websites